金伯利人的GPR | 森软GPR
关闭 X
导航菜单
 

金伯利人的GPR

金伯利人的GPR

K

琥珀石是钻石的主要宿主岩。 大多数金伯利岩是小的垂直管状岩石特征。钻石勘探的勘探挑战很多,但有两个关键步骤。 第一个是定位金伯利岩特征,第二个是评估其钻石潜力。

问题

勘探阶段通常需要在几平方公里的地质有利区域中寻找可能只有几百米宽的金伯利岩带。 工具包括空中和地面地球物理勘测以及地面土壤中微量矿物质的采样。 GPR是一种非常高分辨率的方法,在勘探阶段通常不使用。

一旦定位,就必须评估钻石的承载潜力。 由于菱形岩石的品位非常低,通常每吨1克拉(200毫克)插入号,因此必须提取并处理大量样品(许多吨岩石)以获得代表性的分析方法。

在此评估阶段,大量采样需要详细绘制近地表地质结构。 目标是在最少的工程开发量下就能够提取足够的代表性样品。 在许多情况下,目标地质可能被深深风化或处于湖泊之下,从而限制了通行。

GPR对解决方案的贡献

在有利的环境下,GPR可以将地质结构成像到10米深。 在加拿大西北地区金伯利岩发现评估阶段获得的数据显示了GPR的力量。

勘探阶段通常需要在几平方公里的地质有利区域中寻找可能只有几百米宽的金伯利岩带。 工具包括空中和地面地球物理勘测以及地面土壤中微量矿物质的采样。 GPR是一种非常高分辨率的方法,在勘探阶段通常不使用。

此处显示了GPR数据的横截面示例; 数据是通过以常规偏移反射轮廓分析模式运行的50 MHz pulseEKKO I00 GPR系统获得的。 通常,25至100 MHz中心频率GPR最有效地解决覆盖层中普遍存在的异质性规模。

此示例演示了许多GPR响应。 整个剖面从14到44 m的深度浸入,金伯利岩的顶部清晰可见。 两个高衰减区表明管道边缘存在故障。

带注释的GPR横截面显示了新鲜金伯利岩的上覆结构和深度。 风化的金伯利岩被冰作用和在管道结构上沉积的厚厚的冰川漂移层侵蚀了。

带注释的GPR横截面显示了新鲜金伯利岩的上覆结构和深度。
图1
带注释的GPR横截面显示了新鲜金伯利岩的上覆结构和深度。 风化的金伯利岩被冰作用和在管道结构上沉积的厚厚的冰川漂移层侵蚀了。

上例中的GPR数据给出了金伯利岩顶部的位置,深度和方向,而金伯利岩的顶部又被用于优化金刚石测定样品的岩心钻孔位置。

结果与收益

此案例研究证明了GPR的常见用法。 许多工程设计项目要求对地质结构的了解比钻井所能提供的更为详细。 这项工作的一些主要结论是:

  • GPR可以提供非常高分辨率的地质结构图像
  • 对于偏远地区,GPR是紧凑型现场便携式仪器
  • 操作简单直观,实时即时反馈。
  • 只需几个小时的培训,用户就可以有效
  • 虽然此处未显示,但快速的区域覆盖范围与GPS空间定位相结合,可实现3D可视化以进行站点评估–请参见渐进三角洲中的扇状和前缘寝具的3D可视化示例

下载案例研究:Kimberlites的GPR

了解有关PulseEKKO®GPR的更多信息

根据寻求的目标和宿主材料,GPR反应差异很大。 GPR响应变异性可能会对新的GPR用户造成挑战。 了解GPR时,最佳做法是复习几个类似的内容 案例研究 建立对可变性的理解。 在资源选项卡上检查其他有见地的信息以了解更多信息。

使用方法 联系我们 与我们的应用专家联系,他们可以帮助您利用Sensors&Software的大量技术信息。

LinkedInFacebookTwitter电子邮箱

GPR for Kimberlites - Sensors & Software | Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) GPR for Kimberlites - Sensors & Software | Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR)
close X
Nav Menu
 

GPR for Kimberlites

K

imberlites are the primary host rock for diamonds. Most kimberlites are small vertical pipe-like rock features, The exploration challenges in diamond exploration are many but there are two critical steps. The first is locating a kimblerite feature while the second is evaluating its diamond potential.

Problem

The exploration phase normally entails searching many square kilometers of geologically favourable areas for kimberlite zones that may be only a few hundred meters across. Tools include airborne and ground geophysical surveys and ground soil sampling for trace minerals. GPR, being a very high resolution method, is not usually used in the exploration phase.

Once located, the diamond bearing potential has to be evaluated. Since the grade of diamondiferous rocks is very low, typically 1 carat (200mg) carets per tonne, large samples (many tonnes of rock) must be extracted and processed to obtain representative assays.

In this assessment stage, bulk sampling requires detailed mapping of the near-surface geologic structure. The goal is enable extraction of sufficient and representative bulk samples with minimum engineering development. In many situations, the target geology may be deeply weathered or be under a lake, limiting access.

GPR Contribution to Solution

In favourable settings, GPR can image geologic structure to 10’s of meters depth. An illustration of the power of GPR is shown with data acquired during the assessment phase of kimberlite discoveries in the NWT Canada.

The exploration phase normally entails searching many square kilometers of geologically favourable areas for kimberlite zones that may be only a few hundred meters across. Tools include airborne and ground geophysical surveys and ground soil sampling for trace minerals. GPR, being a very high resolution method, is not usually used in the exploration phase.

An example cross section of GPR data is show here; data were acquired with a 50 MHz pulseEKKO I00 GPR system operated in common offset reflection profiling mode. In general, 25 to 100 MHz center frequency GPR is most effect to address the scale of heterogeneity commonly present in the overburden.

This example demonstrates many GPR responses. The top of kimberlite is clearly visible dipping from a depth of 14 to 44 m across the section. Two high attenuation zones suggest faults at the edge of the pipe.

Annotated GPR cross section showing overburden structure and depth to the fresh kimberlite rock. The weathered kimberlite rock has been eroded by ice actions and a thick layer of glacial drift deposited over the pipe structure.

Annotated GPR cross section showing overburden structure and depth to the fresh kimberlite rock.
Figure 1
Annotated GPR cross section showing overburden structure and depth to the fresh kimberlite rock. The weathered kimberlite rock has been eroded by ice actions and a thick layer of glacial drift deposited over the pipe structure.

The GPR data in the above example gave the location, depth, and orientation of the top of kimberlite which was in turn used to optimize core drilling locations for diamond assay samples.

Results & benefits

This case study demonstrates a common use of GPR. Many pre-engineering projects require a more detailed understanding of geologic structure than drilling can provide. Some key conclusions from this work are:

  • GPR can deliver very high resolution images of geologic structure
  • For remotes areas, GPRs are compact field portable instruments
  • Operation is simple and intuitive and immediate feed back is available on-site in real time.
  • Users can be effective with only a few hours of training
  • While not illustrated here, rapid area coverage combined with GPS spatial positioning enable 3D visualization for site assessment – see an example of 3D visualization of fanset & foreset bedding from a prograding delta

Download the case study: GPR for Kimberlites

Learn more about pulseEKKO® GPR

GPR responses vary greatly depending on the target being sought and the host material. GPR response variability can be challenging to new GPR users. When learning about GPR, the best practice is to review several similar case studies to develop an understanding of variability. Check for other insightful information on the resources tab to learn more.

Use Contact Us to reach our Application Specialists who can help you tap into Sensors & Software’s vast array of technical information.

 

 
FacebookLinkedInTwitterGoogle+Email