GPR案例研究
关闭 X
导航菜单
 

GPR案例研究

GPR认为它可用于各种有趣且具有挑战性的应用程序。 了解GPR以及是否可以为您提供解决方案的最好方法之一就是了解其他人如何使用GPR。 传感器和软件的客户和应用专家几乎以各种可能的方式使用了GPR。 这里提供的案例历史只是几个示例。 如果您有应用程序,但没有看到类似的GPR案例研究,请通过以下方式联系我们的应用程序专家: 联系我们 or 询问专家 关于我们现有的其他研究。

农林

农业排水

农业排水系统已经在世界范围内使用了几个世纪。 有些系统是用现代塑料管道构造的,而另一些系统是用粘土砖制成的,有些甚至是石块填充的沟槽。 由于很少有排水系统的记录,因此定位和确定这些排水系统的状况是一项重大挑战。

高尔夫果岭管理

高尔夫球手总是想要完美的果岭。 为了确保果岭表面的特种草处于最佳状态,果岭保育员正在向GPR寻求帮助。

考古学

寻找不太远的过去的基础

当我们想到考古学时,通常会想到从遥远的土地上的古代文明中寻找文物,但现实情况是,许多考古项目都涉及从不那么遥远的过去寻找附近的物体。 以下来自俄亥俄河谷考古公司的Jarrod Burks博士的Noggin案例研究是重新发现当地最新历史的一个很好的例子。

在墓地里找到坟墓

看起来很奇怪的需求原来是相当普遍的需求。 坟墓位置可能标记不正确或根本没有标记。 原因可能从简单的错误到缺乏维护再到故意去除所有标记物。 GPR现在提供了一个解决方案。

爱尔兰土墩考古遗址

调查墓葬是考古的必要条件。 由于很少允许进行侵入式调查,而且成本极高,因此经常使用GPR调查来协助进行此类调查。 这项研究表明,GPR和磁性材料在爱尔兰Rathcroghan土丘上的结合使用。

历史悠久的道路建设

一条长达600年的维京人之路的路线未知,但被怀疑穿越丹麦的牧场。 一块标记石位于田野中的一条小溪附近,表明这条路已通过该地区。 1992年,GPR测量在牧场下方找到了旧路,并帮助定义了路的内部结构。

混凝土结构

关联线扫描和网格扫描数据

Conquest®100是一个集成的探地雷达(GPR)系统,用于在切割和取芯之前对混凝土中的物体进行定位。 至关重要的是,正确标记所有物体以防止损坏,更重要的是避免人身伤害。

桥面评估| 探地雷达

监视桥面板的状态是评估劣化的持续需要。 使用GPR可以感觉到钢筋的腐蚀以及沥青和混凝土的分层。 此示例说明了桥面甲板中发生化学变化的区域。 恶化通过信号幅度的变化来表示。

电源电缆检测器PCD | GPR定位器

PCD测量由电线中的电流流动产生的磁场。 当电线嵌入混凝土中或下面时,PCD增强了用户区分电缆与其他结构的能力。

主电源线位置

在规划建筑物的翻新工程时,对楼板地板进行了扫描,以确定主电源线经过的路径并检查其深度。 具有PCD(电源线检测)功能的Conquest 100探地雷达提供了一种快速简便的解决方案。

找到辐射加热管

探地雷达是绘制混凝土中所有嵌入物的有效工具。

征服GPR地图后张力电缆

后拉力(PT)电缆用于混凝土结构,以使平板更薄,支撑柱之间的跨度更大。 这些由插入塑料护套中的钢丝组成的电缆随后在混凝土浇筑后被“张紧”并灌浆。

在混凝土板中查找电缆

GPR异常确实是钢筋和电缆的综合响应。 切割人员能够避免潜在的伤害,该项目如期进行。

地质技术与环境

4通道250 MHz阵列| SPIDAR®GPR

SPIDAR®系统将任意数量的Noggin和pulseEKKO PRO GPR系统连接到一个数据收集平台中,并为数据收集提供了最大的灵活性。 尽管可能性是无限的,但常见的部署是将几个具有相同频率的系统横向隔开,以在一次通过中提供大量数据。 与单个系统相比,这可以在很短的时间内对大面积进行测量。 在此案例研究中,客户需要在7.5公顷(19英亩)的土地上绘制土壤变化图,以优化作物选择。

7通道1000 MHz阵列| SPIDAR®GPR

SPIDAR®系统将任意数量的Noggin和pulseEKKO PRO GPR系统联网到一个数据收集平台中。 尽管可能性是无限的,但最常见的部署是横向间隔相同频率的多个系统,以在一次通过中提供大量数据。 与单个系统相比,这可以在短时间内对大面积进行测量。

盐水渗透

在沿海地区,盐水流入浅层淡水含水层可能对饮用水供应产生可怕的后果,并引起其他环境问题。 本案例研究的结果来自英国的考古调查。 在寻找古罗马道路时,观察到盐度变化对GPR反应的影响的图形显示。

水深测量| 底下探查器GPR

水文学家和工程师经常需要准确的水深以及浅水淡水湖泊和河流中亚底地层的信息。 用途从估计可用水量到新结构的工程设计不等。

在当地加油站绘制地下燃料储罐的图

房地产交易经常需要进行环境现场评估。 确认是否存在地下储罐(USTs)是关闭合同的关键因素。 GPR反射映射调查通常用于识别UST的存在。 所示示例显示了在一个加油站现场发现的五个储罐以及相关管道。

高尔夫果岭管理

高尔夫球手总是想要完美的果岭。 为了确保果岭表面的特种草处于最佳状态,果岭保育员正在向GPR寻求帮助。

冰雪

冰川女孩| 冰雪扫描

1942年,作为第二次世界大战军事装备租借的一部分,一个中队从美国运往英国。 这条路线将把飞机从缅因州运送到拉布拉多,再到格陵兰再到冰岛,最后再到苏格兰。 天气和敌人的战术导致该中队于15月25日被迫坠毁在格陵兰冰原上的土地。在安全救援所有机组人员(总共XNUMX名成员)的同时,这架被遗弃的飞机很快被雪和冰吞没了。

滑雪场降雪管理

滑雪胜地依靠高质量的雪况来吸引有眼光的滑雪者。 知道斜坡上积雪的数量和分布可以确定何时何地移动和/或造雪。 两者都需要昂贵的资源,以确保在每年的最大时间里均匀地放置雪地。

GPR和北极石油勘探

北极石油勘探需要在冰雪覆盖的地区安全运输重型设备。 使用地震振动器源要求确保安全的冰厚,并且数据的质量可能取决于找到接地的冰。 此案例研究遵循了现在广泛用于冰厚测绘的IceMap系统的发展。

雪到水

雪是淡水的主要来源。 该案例研究显示了GPR如何提供将积雪转换为水文预报所需的关键控制信息。

冰川测绘

冰川含有大量淡水。 映射冰川3D形状指示可用水量。 这项研究突出了卡尔加里大学科学家的工作,该科学家致力于绘制加拿大停滞冰川的体积。

定位管道和电缆

用于地下水管道安装的地下公用工程

SUE B级要求使用地球物理方法来验证掩埋设施的水平和垂直位置。 知道地面穿透雷达(GPR)可以找到金属,非金属和废弃公用设施后,该市的项目团队联系了Sensors&Software进行了产品演示。 LMX200™ GPR系统。

找到雨水排放管道

LMX200 GPR用于定位雨水管道,以确保成功地将HDD安装在光纤线路上。

映射多个实用程序

该项目的交付成果包括在地面上标记公用设施,并向制造厂交付一份详细说明发现的报告。

地下映射有助于公交设计

新运输系统的地下公用设施制图和工程部署了Noggin GPR,以定位掩埋基础设施的位置和深度。 在设计过程的早期发现潜在的冲突和问题有助于确保项目按计划进行。

环境评估

环境现场评估通常要求清理现场以进行钻孔。 在此示例中,GPR用于绘制加油站中储油罐的位置图,从而可以安全地进行井眼土壤采样。

地下实用程序映射

GPR是绘制金属,非金属,塑料,混凝土和石棉混凝土公用事业的位置和深度的强大工具。 使用GPR进行地图绘制以系统地覆盖一个区域可以快速揭示多个地下公用设施的分布和特征。

验证气管位置

验证掩埋公用设施的位置是GPR的常见用法。 由于所携带材料的危险性,气体管线是特别重要的目标。 在许多情况下,气体管道是塑料的。 这项研究比较了传统的电磁定位和GPR在金属燃气管道上的使用。

GPR用于掩埋公用事业定位

探地雷达(GPR)使用无线电波以无损方式定位土壤,岩石,混凝土,沥青,木材和水等材料中的物体和地下结构。

采矿与采石

金伯利人的GPR

金伯利岩经常承载钻石-挑战在于确定是否存在具有经济意义的钻石。 在某些情况下,GPR提供了解决此难题的有效方法。

红土镍的GPR

GPR通过描绘高风化岩石中的主要地层单位来帮助定义红土镍矿的经济潜力。 富镍的红土区域已被证明对GPR透明,可以进行20-50 m深度的结构成像。

砂矿勘探

金,钻石和其他重矿物通过河流沉积物沉积而沉积在首选位置。 圭亚那的这个砂矿勘探项目说明了如何使用GPR识别深度超过70m的有利矿床位置。

警察与保安

FINDAR®为谋杀受害者辩护

俄克拉荷马州调查局(OSBI)官员通过FINDAR调查了犯罪现场,对该技术提供结果的能力并不感到失望。 在三英尺的土壤下,发现了一个腐烂的尸体。

GPR指导掘尸

1968年82月,在宾夕法尼亚州伯克斯县,一具被确认为桑迪的尸体被枪击五次,并被扔下XNUMX号公路上的一堆毒藤。 八个月后,在法国溪州立公园(French Creek State Park)约五英里外发现了被认为是玛莎(Martha)的骨骼遗骸。 当局认为这两个女孩是同时被谋杀的。

埋葬受害者搜救

当灾难袭来,人们被活埋时,需要使用简单易用的搜索技术轻松地部署搜索和救援团队。 团队通常会采用听觉检测到受害者的哭声来寻求帮助,训练有素的嗅探犬甚至手机。 最近,遥感技术开始出现。 本案例研究探讨了使用定制的GPR技术在实验设施中定位埋葬受害者的情况

瑞典谋杀案-GPR指导证据搜寻

经过多年的警方调查,Sensors&Software的探地雷达(GPR)帮助解决了失踪女性下落的谜团。

道路与桥梁

沥青路面厚度结构报告

GPR是用于路面结构分析的准确且经济高效的工具。 结合易于部署的Noggin GPR系统和先进但易于使用的EKKO_Project软件,用户可以快速将道路勘测结果处理成有意义的地下信息。 道路检查变得更加容易和负担得起!

桥面状况评估

金属增强材料的腐蚀程度是桥面板和类似混凝土结构的主要问题。 由于盐水和腐蚀副产物的存在会导致GPR信号强烈衰减,因此测量和绘制GPR信号衰减的变化已成为评估混凝土结构状况的公认方法。

道路路面取证

GPR是绘制金属,非金属,塑料,混凝土和石棉混凝土公用事业的位置和深度的强大工具。 使用GPR进行地图绘制以系统地覆盖一个区域可以快速揭示多个地下公用设施的分布和特征。

施工实践区划

在许多情况下,建造和维修的历史记录可能不存在或很难找到。 Noggin GPR系统使公路工程师能够轻松评估广阔道路上的地下状况。

施工实践分类

在将GPR与其他数据关联之后,可以确认突变的局部变化是基础混凝土板中的接缝。 信号特性的变化与细颗粒材料和混凝土接头中残留的水有关。

桥面评估| 探地雷达

监视桥面板的状态是评估劣化的持续需要。 使用GPR可以感觉到钢筋的腐蚀以及沥青和混凝土的分层。 此示例说明了桥面甲板中发生化学变化的区域。 恶化通过信号幅度的变化来表示。

沥青摊铺厚度路面评估

滑铁卢大学CPATT(道路和运输技术中心)测试道路的路面结构数据以40至80 km / h(30至50 mph)的速度获取。 SmartTrailer配置可快速获取表面耦合GPR。 使用车辆里程表以用户定义的空间间隔收集所有数据。 DMI和GPS提供精确的定位。

ajax加载器

close X
Nav Menu
 

Questions?

Call us toll-free: 1-800-267-6013 or email sales@sensoft.ca

Request more information

If you have a question about GPR or our products, fill in the form below and our expert will send you an answer as soon as possible, typically within 24 hours.




Would you like to subscribe to our mailing list, and receive information
about courses, promotions, new products, and newsletters?

Type the characters that appear below:

captcha

 

Case studies

GPR sees use in a wide range of interesting and challenging applications.  One of the best ways to learn about GPR and whether it can provide you with a solution is to see how GPR has been used by others.  Sensors & Software’s customers and applications specialists have used GPR in almost every conceivable way.  The case histories provided here are a few examples.  If you have an application and don’t see a similar GPR  case study, contact our application specialists using Contact Us or Ask the Expert about other studies we have available.

Agriculture & Forestry

Agricultural Drainage

Agricultural drainage systems have been in use worldwide for centuries. Some systems are constructed of modern plastic piping while others are made of clay tiles and some are even stone filled trenches. Locating and determining the condition of these drain systems represents a major challenge as there are seldom records of their location.

Golf Green Management

Golfers always want perfect putting greens. To ensure the specialty grasses on the greens surface are in the best condition, greens keepers are turning to GPR for help.

Archaeology

Locating foundations from the not-so distant past

When we think of archaeology, we usually think of searching for artifacts from ancient civilizations in distant lands but the reality is that many archaeological projects involve looking for nearby objects from the not-so-distant past. The following Noggin case study from Dr. Jarrod Burks from Ohio Valley Archaeology, Inc. is a great example of rediscovering local, recent history.

Finding Graves in Cemeteries

What may seem like an odd requirement turns out to be quite a common need. Grave locations can be marked incorrectly or not marked at all. The causes can range from simple mistakes to lack of maintenance to intentional removal of all markers. GPR now provides a solution.

Irish Mound Archeology Site

Investigating tombs and burials is an archaeological necessity. GPR surveys are regularly used to assist in such investigations since extensive intrusive investigations are seldom permitted and extremely costly. This study shows the combination of GPR and magnetics being used on the Rathcroghan Mound in Ireland.

Historic Road Construction

The route of a 600 year old Viking road was unknown but suspected to cross a pasture in Denmark. A marker stone was located near a small stream in the field suggesting the road has passed though the area. In 1992, GPR surveying located the old road beneath the pasture and helped define the internal structure of a road.

Concrete Structures

Correlating line scan and grid scan data

Conquest® 100 is an integrated ground penetrating radar (GPR) system used for locating objects in concrete prior to cutting and coring. It’s critical that all objects are properly marked out to prevent damage and more importantly, personal injury.

Embedded Features

Conquest is an integrated ground penetrating radar (GPR)  system used for the non-destructiveinspection of concrete. Conquest’s depth slice views help locate features embedded in concrete (such as rebar, conduit, post-tension cables) before drilling or cutting.

Power Cable Detector PCD

PCD measures the magnetic fields created by current flow in electrical wiring. When wiring is embedded in or beneath concrete, PCD enhances the user’s ability to distinguish electrical cables from other structures.

Main Power Line Location

In planning the building’s refurbishing, the slab-on-grade floor was scanned to ascertain the path the main power line took and to check its depth. Conquest 100 with PCD (Power Cable Detection) provided a quick and easy solution.

Locate Radiant Heating Tubes

Ground Penetrating Radar is an effective tool for mapping out all embedments in concrete.

Post-Tension Cable Characteristics

Post-tension (PT) cables are used in concrete construction to allow thinner slabs and greater span lengths between support columns. These cables, composed of steel wires inserted into a plastic sheath, are subsequently “tensioned” and grouted after the concrete is poured.

Electric Cable in Concrete

The GPR anomaly was indeed the combined response of the rebar and the electrical cable. The cutting crew was able to avoid potential injury and the project continued on schedule.

Geotech & Environment

Saltwater Interfiltration

In coastal areas, the influx of saltwater into shallow fresh water aquifers can have dire consequences on drinking water supply and create other environmental concerns. The results in this case study derive from an archeological survey in the UK. While searching for an ancient Roman road, a graphic demonstration of the impact of salinity change on GPR response was observed.

GPR Bathymetry

Hydrologists and engineers often require accurate water depth and information about sub-bottom stratigraphy in shallow freshwater lakes and rivers. Uses can vary from estimating available water volumes to the engineering design of new structures.

Locating Underground Storage Tanks

Real estate transactions regularly create the need for an environmental site assessment. Confirming the presence or absence of underground storage tanks (USTs) can be a critical factor in contract closing. GPR reflection mapping surveys are commonly used to identify the presence of USTs. The example presented shows five storage tanks plus related pipes discovered at the site of a gasoline station.

Golf Green Management

Golfers always want perfect putting greens. To ensure the specialty grasses on the greens surface are in the best condition, greens keepers are turning to GPR for help.

Ice & Snow

Glacier Girl

In 1942, a squadron of aircraft were being ferried from the USA to England as part of the lend-lease of military equipment in WW II. The path would take the aircraft from Maine to Labrador to Greenland then Iceland and finally to Scotland. Weather and enemy tactics resulted in the squadron being forced to crash land on the Greenland ice sheet on July 15. While all crews (25 members in total) were safely rescued, the abandoned aircraft were swallowed up by the snow and ice in no time.

Ski Resort Snow Management

Ski resorts depend on high quality snow conditions to attract discerning skiers. Knowing the quantity and distribution of snow on the slopes determines when and where to move and/or make snow. Both require costly resources to ensure a uniform snow base is in place for the maximum time each year.

GPR & Arctic Oil Exploration

Arctic oil exploration requires safe transportion of heavy equipment over ice-covered areas. Use of seismic vibrator sources demand that safe ice thickness  be assured and quality of data can depend on finding grounded ice. This case study follows the evolution of the IceMap system now widely used for ice thickness mapping.

Snow to Water

Snow is major source of fresh water. This case study shows how GPR provides key control information needed for converting snow pack to hydrological forecasts.

Glacier Mapping

Glaciers contain large volumes of fresh water. Mapping glaciers 3D shape indicate the volume of available water. This study highlights work by University of Calgary scientists engaged in mapping the volume of Stagnation Glacier in Canada.

Locating Pipes & Cables

Subsurface utility engineering for water installation

SUE level B calls for the use of geophysical methods to verify the horizontal and vertical positions of buried utilities. Knowing that ground penetrating radar (GPR) could locate metallic, non-metallic and abandoned utilities, the city’s project team contacted Sensors & Software for a product demonstration of a LMX200™ GPR system.

Locating a Storm Water Sewer

LMX200 GPR was used to locate a storm sewer pipe to ensure successful  HDD installation of fiber lines.

Mapping Multiple Utilities

The project deliverable included marking the utilities on the ground, and delivering a report detailing the findings to the manufacturing plant.

Subsurface Mapping Helps Transit Design

Subsurface utility mapping and engineering for a new transit system deployed a Noggin GPR to locate the position and depth of buried infrastructure. Identifying potential conflicts and issues early in the design process helped ensure the project proceeded according to schedule.

Environmental Assessment

Environmental site assessments often require sites to be cleared for borehole drilling. In this example, GPR was used to map storage tank locations at a gas station to allow borehole soil sampling to be safely performed.

Subsurface Utility Mapping

GPR can be a powerful tool for mapping the location and depth of metallic, non-metallic, plastic, concrete and asbestos-concrete utilities. Mapping with GPR to systematically cover an area can quickly reveal the distribution and character of multiple buried utilities.

Verifying Gas Line Location

Verifying the location of buried utilities is a common use of GPR. Gas lines are particularly important targets owing to the dangerous nature of the material carried. In many cases the gas piping is plastic. This study compares use of traditional electromagnetic locating and GPR for a metal gas pipe.

GPR for buried utility locating

Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) use radio waves to non-destructively locate objects and subsurface structures in materials like soil, rock, concrete, asphalt, wood and water.

Mining & Quarrying

GPR for Kimberlites

Kimberlites often host diamonds – the challenge is to determine if diamonds of economic significance are present. In some settings, GPR provides a powerful way to addressing this challenge.

GPR for Lateritic Nickel

GPR helps define the economic potential of lateric nickel deposits by delineating major stratigraphic units in highly weathered rocks. Nickel-rich lateric areas have proven to be transparent to GPR allowing structural imaging to depths of 20-50 m depth.

Placer Deposit Exploration

Gold, diamonds and other heavy minerals are deposited in preferred locations by fluvial sediment deposition. This placer exploration project in Guyana illustrates how GPR is used to identify favourable deposit locations to depths in excess of 70m.

Police & Security

FINDAR® Speaks for Murder Victims

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) officials surveyed the crime scene with FINDAR and were not disappointed with the technology’s ability to deliver results. Under three feet of soil, a decomposing body was discovered.

GPR guides exhumation

In August 1968, a body identified as Sandy was found shot five times and dumped off Route 82 in a patch of poison ivy in Berks County, Pennsylvania. Eight months later, the skeletal remains thought to be Martha were found about five miles away in French Creek State Park. Authorities believed both girls were murdered at the same time.

Buried victim search & rescue

When disaster strikes and people are buried alive, search and rescue teams need to be readily deployed with simple-to-use search techniques. Teams commonly employ audible detection of victims’ cries for help, trained sniffer dogs and even cell phones. More recently, remote sensing technologies are starting to emerge. This case study examines the use of customized GPR technology to locate buried victims in an experimental facility

Murder in Sweden – GPR Guides Evidence Search

After years of police investigations, it was Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) from Sensors & Software that helped solve the mystery of missing females whereabouts.

Roads & Bridges

Pavement Structure Reports

GPR is an accurate and cost-effective tool for pavement structure analysis. Combining the easy-to-deploy Noggin GPR system and advanced but easy-to-use EKKO_Project software enables users to quickly process road survey results into meaningful subsurface information. The inspection of roads has just become a lot easier and more affordable!

Bridge Deck Condition Assessment

The degree of corrosion of metal reinforcing is a major concern with bridge decksand similar concrete structures. Since the presence of saline water and corrosion by-products causes strong attenuation of GPR signals, measuring and mapping the variations in GPR signal attenuation has become an accepted practice to assess the condition of concrete structures.

Road Pavement Forensics

GPR can be a powerful tool for mapping the location and depth of metallic, non-metallic, plastic, concrete and asbestos-concrete utilities. Mapping with GPR to systematically cover an area can quickly reveal the distribution and character of multiple buried utilities.

Construction Practice Zoning

In many instances, historical records of construction and repair may not exist or be hard to locate. Noggin  GPR systems enable highway engineers to easily assess subsurface conditions over vast lengths of road.

Construction Practice Classifications

After correlating the GPR with other data, the abrupt localized changes were confirmed to be joints in the underlying concrete slab. The change in signal character is associated with fine grained material and water retained in the concrete joints.

Bridge Deck Evaluation

Monitoring the state of bridge decks is an ongoing need to evaluate deterioration. Corrosion of reinforcing steel and delamination of asphalt and concrete can be sensed with GPR. This example illustrates an area of chemical alteration in a bridge-deck. Deterioration is indicated by changes in signal amplitude.

Bridge Deck Condition Reports

The degree of salt-induced corrosion of reinforcing is a major concern with concrete decks and similar structures in northern climates where de-icing salt is used. Since the presence of saline water and corrosion by-products causes strong attenuation of GPR signals, GPR attenuation has become an accepted indicator for rapid, non-invasive evaluation of concrete structures.

Asphalt and Granular Thickness

Pavement structure data on the CPATT (Centre for Pavement and Transportation Technologies) test road at the University of Waterloo was acquired at speeds of 40 to 80 km/h (30 to 50 mph). The SmartTrailer configuration enables rapid acquisition of surface coupled GPR. All data were collected using a vehicle odometer at a user-defined spatial interval. DMI and GPS provide precise positioning.

ajaxloader
 
 
FacebookLinkedInTwitterGoogle+Email