冰雪厚度冰路| 冰桥| 冰川和极地冰盖研究
关闭 X
导航菜单
 

冰雪

冰路的冰厚| 冰川和极地冰盖研究| 积雪厚度和体积测量

  • 冰图
  • 冰图探地雷达
冰图冰图探地雷达

测量厚度并量化雪和冰的数量对于许多应用而言至关重要,包括滑雪坡管理,确保冬季冰路安全,寻找雪崩受害者,气候变化调查,冰川学和极地冰盖研究。

探地雷达(GPR)是对冰雪成像的自然工具,因为这些材料对GPR信号非常透明。 允许深度渗透和映射隐藏在表面下的特征。

冰川学和冰盖

冰川和冰盖是GPR的绝佳环境。 人们对气候变化的兴趣日益增加,从而加速了对GPR的使用。 应用包括表征冰的体积,检查冰的结构以了解古气候以及帮助计划使用这种宝贵的淡水供应。

表征冰量

多年以来,GPR已被用于研究冰川和冰盖。 借助现代化的轻型GPR系统,再加上GPS定位和多种部署选项,可以绘制冰川范围内的估计冰深,并随时间监控变化。

案例研究

冰川冰厚
GPR资料显示了根据GPS数据确定的地形变化数据补偿后,停滞冰川的估计冰深。

使用GPR在冰中查找对象

由于金属是GPR无线电波的强反射器,因此GPR可以检测到雪面下的大型金属物体。 在本例中,使用pulseEKKO®GPR搜索失落的中队,该中队由六架P-38闪电战斗机和两架B-17飞行堡垒轰炸机组成,它们于1942年坠毁在格陵兰岛。在38年代初期,GPR的调查发现了冰下85 m处的深度。

案例研究

GPR冰厚度
pulseEKKO®PRO GPR的横截面清楚地显示出在地面以下85米处的强烈反射。


成像冰盖

冰对GPR信号非常透明,可以穿透。 GPR对冰层特性的细微变化也很敏感。 这使其成为了以米或数百米为单位成像冰川和冰盖内部结构的强大工具。
GPR冰厚度
pulseEKKO®500 MHz数据显示了南极冰盖顶部10m的详细内部分层和结构。 数据由新西兰坎特伯雷大学 NC Kruetzmann 提供。

GPR冰厚度
pulseEKKO® 25 MHz 数据显示了顶部 240 米冰层(左)的内部结构以及冰河谷一侧的冰和岩石之间的边界(右)。 数据由新西兰坎特伯雷大学的 Mette Riger-Kusk 提供。

降雪管理

GPR是估算积雪厚度的有效工具,可用于各种应用,包括雪崩预测监视,评估度假村的滑雪坡度,检测雪崩受害者的活动并测量雪中的水分。

滑雪场降雪管理

积雪厚度是管理滑雪场的重要组成部分。 知道何时下雪或下雪会带来重大的成本影响。 借助我们的手持式和Groomer固定式GPR系统SnowScan,可以每天绘制积雪厚度,从而使滑雪胜地能够轻松管理修整和造雪作业。
通过使用带有GPS单元的SnowScan系统,收集到显示在Google Earth™上的积雪厚度。

通过估算积雪量来预测淡水供应

在北部地区和高海拔地区,积雪在冬季发展,并在夏季融化。 积雪是一个宝贵的水库,其厚度是水文地质预报所必需的。 GPR通过利用GPR波速将雪的厚度映射到雪水转换因子中。

案例研究

GPR线
GPR横截面显示了雪到地面的边界,从中可以估算雪深。

冰厚

在阿拉斯加和加拿大北部,经常使用冰路和跑道将人员,物品和设备运送到偏远社区,勘探营地或矿场。 尽管气候变化,IceMap™GPR系统仍可确保安全旅行。

GPR线
IceMap™GPR系统提供了一种定期检查冰层厚度状况的快速方法。
GPR线
随着时间的流逝,冰桥的时间流逝变厚。
GPR线
GPS定位的现场数据可创建冰厚图和延时视图,以快速监控随时间的变化。

 

传感器和软件GPR系统

 

优势
  • 易于使用,操作灵活
  • 接地GPR可提供最佳质量,最深的穿透力和最高分辨率的数据
  • 直观而强大的处理软件可有效分析和报告结果
  • 业界公认的GPR专业知识和支持可帮助您最大化GPR回报
  • 我们为冰雪应用提供了一系列系统,因此您可以选择最适合您项目需求的系统。
混凝土扫描仪
Noggin提供了最大的灵活性。 在四个不同的中心频率和四个不同的配置之间进行选择,以适合您的应用。 Noggin系统还提供自定义数据采集选项。

混凝土扫描仪
pulseEKKO®GPR系统可提供无与伦比的性能,并具有广泛的频率范围,适用于从深部矿物勘探和冰川学到高分辨率岩土工程研究和混凝土成像的各种应用。
混凝土扫描仪
IceMap™是我们的全包式交钥匙解决方案,可实时连续监测迅速变化的冰层厚度,以简单的用户界面和针对最佳质量数据进行优化的参数,确保所有旅行者的安全。
混凝土扫描仪
IcePicker软件使用户能够选择冰反射的底部并输出GPS位置和冰厚的报告。 数据可以显示在Google Earth或QuickMap软件中以生成冰厚的地图图像,也可以导出到GIS包中。
混凝土扫描仪
EKKO_Project是用于管理,显示,处理和解释GPR数据的全方位软件解决方案。

索取更多信息

Ice & Snow thickness Ice roads | Ice bridge | Glacier and polar ice-cap research
close X
Nav Menu
 

Ice & Snow

Ice thickness for Ice roads | Glacier and polar ice-cap research | Snow thickness and volume measurements

  • IceMap
  • IceMap GPR
IceMapIceMap GPR

Measuring the thickness and quantifying the amount of snow and ice is essential for many applications, including ski slope management, ensuring winter ice road safety, locating victims of avalanches, climate change investigations, glaciological and polar ice-cap research.

Ground penetrating radar (GPR) is a natural tool for imaging snow and ice as these materials are very transparent to GPR signals; allowing for deep penetration and mapping of features hidden under the surface.

Glaciology and Ice Sheets

Glaciers and ice-sheets are excellent environments for GPR. Growing interest in climate change has accelerated the use of GPR. Applications include characterizing the volume of ice, examining the ice structure to understand the paleo-climate and helping plan the use of this valuable supply of freshwater.

Characterizing the volume of ice

GPR has been used in the study of glaciers and ice sheets for many years. With modern light weight GPR systems, coupled with GPS positioning and multiple deployment options, the estimated ice depth over the extent of a glacier can be mapped, and changes monitored over time.

Case Study

glacier ice thickness
GPR profile showing the estimated ice depth of the Stagnation Glacier after compensating the data for topographic changes as determined from the GPS data.

Using GPR to find objects in ice

GPR can detect large metallic objects beneath the snow surface as metal is a strong reflector of GPR radio waves. In this example a pulseEKKO® GPR was used to search for the Lost Squadron, consisting of six P-38 Lightning fighters and two B-17 Flying Fortress bombers, that crash landed in Greenland in 1942. A P-38 nicknamed Glacier Girl, located at a depth of 85 m under the ice, was discovered by GPR surveys in the early 1990’s.

Case Study

GPR ice thickness
pulseEKKO® PRO GPR cross-section clearly showing a strong reflection at 85 meters below the surface.


Imaging Ice Sheets

Ice is very transparent to GPR signals, allowing tremendous penetration. GPR is also sensitive to subtle changes in the properties of ice layers. This makes it a powerful tool to image the internal structure of glaciers and ice sheets at a scale of meters or hundreds of meters.
GPR ice thickness
pulseEKKO® 500 MHz data showing the detailed internal layering and structure of the top 10m of an Antarctic ice sheet.

Snow Management

GPR is an effective tool for estimating snow thickness and can be used in a variety of applications ranging from avalanche prediction monitoring, evaluating ski slopes at resorts, detecting movement of avalanche victims and measuring water content in snow.

Ski Resort Snow Management

Snow thickness is a critical component of managing ski slopes. Knowing when to make or move snow has major cost implications. Daily mapping of snow thickness with SnowScan, our handheld and Groomer-Mounted GPR system, enable ski resorts to easily manage grooming and snow-making operations.
Snow thickness displayed onto Google Earth™ gathered by using a SnowScan system with a GPS unit.

Forecast supply of freshwater by estimating snow pack volume

In northern regions and elevated areas, snow pack develops in the winter and melts during the summer. Snow pack represents a valuable water reservoir and its thickness is required for hydrogeology forecasting. GPR readily maps snow thicknesses by making use of the GPR wave velocity to use in snow-to-water conversion factors.

Case Study

GPR lines
GPR cross-section showing the snow to ground boundary from which the snow depth can be estimated.

Ice Thickness

In Alaska and Northern Canada, ice roads and runways are regularly used to transport people, goods and equipment to isolated communities, exploration camps or mine sites. IceMap™ GPR systems allow for safe travel despite the changing climate.

GPR lines
IceMap™ GPR systems provide a rapid means of regularly checking ice thickness conditions.
GPR lines
Time-lapse of an ice bridge thickening over time.
GPR lines
GPS positioned field data enable creation of ice thickness maps and time-lapse views to quickly monitor changes over time.

 

Sensors & Software GPR Systems

 

Advantages
  • Easy to use, flexible operation
  • Ground-coupled GPR to provide the best quality, deepest penetration and highest resolution data possible
  • Intuitive and powerful processing software to efficiently analyse and report results
  • Industry recognized GPR expertise and support to help you maximize your GPR returns
  • We offer a selection of systems for Ice and Snow applications, so you can choose the one that is best for your project needs.
concrete scanner
The Noggin offers the ultimate flexibility. Choose between four different center frequencies and four different configurations to suit your application. Noggin systems also offer custom data acquisition options.

concrete scanner
pulseEKKO® GPR systems provide unparalleled performance with a wide-range of frequencies for applications ranging from deep mineral exploration and glaciology to high-resolution geotechnical investigations and concrete imaging.
concrete scanner
IceMap™ is our full featured turnkey solution to continuously monitor rapidly changing ice thickness in real time to ensure the safety of all travelers with a simple user interface and parameters that are optimized for best quality data.
concrete scanner
The IcePicker software enables the user to pick the bottom of ice reflection and output a report of GPS positions and ice thicknesses. The data can be displayed in Google Earth or the QuickMap software to produce map images of ice thickness, or exported to GIS packages.
concrete scanner
EKKO_Project is the all-inclusive software solution for managing, displaying, processing and interpreting GPR data.

Request More Information